Going through the gorge of Vratnik by a long tunnel that pierces the ridge
of the mountain, one emerges on the southern slope of the island and the
village of Zavala. It is a picturesque village, on a slope
by the sea with several beautiful pebble beaches, which is why the place was
called Zaca - from "zalca" (pebbles) - in the 15th century. Here is found
the Dubokovic-Nadalini country house from the first half of the 19th century,
with the chapel of Sv. Juraj (St. George) from 1866.
The wooded island of Scedro, an area of 900 hectares, can be
reached in half an hour's trip by motor boat from Zavala. The deep and
sheltered bays of the islands, known from ancient times, gave their name to
the island (Scedri=charitable, merciful). There are Illyrian mounds of
impressive size, called "kadunje" after the large quantities of snails on
them. There are also remains of the Dominican monastery of Sv. Marija od
milosti (Our Lady of Mercy) from 1465.